Just another WordPress.com site

Understanding

 

 

A few days ago Ian Clemens wrote in his blog a post identifying Geo-Spatial as a means to an end, and not the end itself.  This is an important distinction.

It is easy for me to say that mapping, Geo-Spatial, GIS, Cartography, all of that, is my professional focus and the result of my work.  I am passionate about it, it is what my degrees are in, it is something to which I have dedicated much of my allotted time on this earth studying…but I would be wrong. 

Really, what my goal is, what the goal of anyone who makes or uses anything Geo-Spatial is understanding.  I want to tell a story, show the truth, gain and give insight.  Geo-Spatial, or Space/Time visualizations happen to be a superb tool (admittedly, my favorite tool; a supertool).  The mastery of Geo-Spatial, and any other means of communication is a path to the goal of understanding.  Understanding is the goal; Geo-Spatial is a means.

 

John Nelson / IDV Solutions / john.nelson@idvsolutions.com

 

2 responses

  1. Unknown

    thank you.
    HTML clipboardkora –
    sport forum
    sport forum
    منتدى الدوري السعودي
    منتدى الدوري السعودي23
    tags

    September 9, 2008 at 6:55 pm

  2. Unknown

    battery
    asus a32-a8 battery
    asus a8 battery

    asus z99 battery
    asus m3000 battery
    asus m3n battery
    asus m3000n battery
    asus m3 battery
    asus a42-m6 battery
    asus m6n battery
    asus m67 battery
    asus m67n battery

    asus m68 battery
    asus m68n battery
    asus m6000 battery
    asus a42-w1 battery
    asus w1 battery
    asus w1g battery
    asus w1v battery
    asus w1000 battery
    asus w1000n battery

    asus w1000g battery
    asus a42-w3 battery
    asus w3a battery
    asus w3n battery
    asus w3v battery
    asus w3000a battery
    asus w3000 battery
    asus w3000v battery
    asus a31-s5 battery

    asus a32-s5 battery
    asus s52n battery
    asus s5000 battery
    asus s5200n battery
    asus s5n battery
    asus 90-naa1b1000 battery
    asus s2691061 battery
    asus a42-v6 battery
    asus a32-u5 battery

    asus u5f

    October 13, 2008 at 4:33 am

Leave a comment